Written by Shona Smith on Jun 16, 2020. Posted in Awards and Festivals

7th Annual LMGI Awards goes digital

The Location Managers Guild International has announced that the 7th Annual LMGI Awards: 2020/We See It First will go digital streaming to a worldwide audience. The Awards will take place on Saturday October 24th at 2pm PST. The deadline for submitting projects and Film Commission for Awards consideration is Wednesday July 1 2020.

The LMGI is one of the first major entertainment award celebrations to announce their online approach. Awards Co-Chair Lori Balton states, “While the pandemic dictates our break with tradition, we are eager to enter this brave new world. This new format opens a new arena of possibilities for the global entertainment community to experience the awards. Adds Co-chair, John Rakich, “It’s an interesting challenge, and Location Professionals love a challenge! We are working to achieve a skillful blend of live results and taped honorees/presenters. This new platform will deliver a much larger audience than ever.”

The these of the 2020 LMGI Awards “2020/We See It First” spotlights the creative contributions of locations to film, television and commercial productions.

Actor and director Isaiah Mustafa will host the awards celebration, and will be joined by a celebrity line up of honorees and presenters. Mustafa, a former American football wide receiver, is known for It Chapter Two, Shadowhunters and Horrible Bosses. He is also widely known as the main character in the series of Old Spice television commercials.

The deadline for submitting projects and Film Commissions for Awards consideration is Wednesday, July 1, 2020. All Entertainment Industry professionals are welcome to submit projects for consideration. Please go to LocationManagers.org for rules and regulations, and to submit commercial, television, and feature productions in which locations are artistically integral to the storyline and set tone, reveal character, and enhance the narrative, as well as providing a backdrop for action. Additionally, the internationally acclaimed LMGI Film Commissions Award recognizes film offices and commissions that go above and beyond in facilitating production.

Outstanding Location Awards will be presented in the following categories: Outstanding Location Awards will be presented in the following categories: Contemporary Film, Period Film, Contemporary TV, Period TV, TV Serial Program/Anthology/Limited Series, Commercials and Film Commissions. Honorary Awards include the Humanitarian, Lifetime Achievement, Trailblazer and the Eva Monley Award. Active and retired LMGI members in good standing can vote on the awards. Submissions are open to LMGI members and non-members alike. More detailed information, rules and regulations can be found at the LMGI website, or Click Here for Rules & Regulations and Submission Forms.

Click here to read about LMGI Awards 2019 winners.

Related Posts


Not Logged in

You must be logged in to post a comment

    There are no comments